Victoria v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1929/30
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 15th, 16th, 18th, 19th November 1929 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultVictoria won by 7 wickets
UmpiresAN Barlow, RM Crockett
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 30/4 (Ryder 12*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 26/2 (Dawson 9*)
Close of play day 3Victoria (2) 179/3 (Woodfull 93*, Rigg 39*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dawsonc Woodfull b Blackie44     
*AHH Gilliganc Hendry b Ironmonger53     
KS Duleepsinhjic Alexander b Blackie37     
FE Woolleyst Ellis b Blackie5     
MJL Turnbullc Ironmonger b Blackie11     
MS Nicholsc Ellis b Blackie13     
GF Earlec Ellis b Ironmonger21     
F Barrattc Scaife b Ironmonger32     
+WL Cornfordnot out15     
MJC Allomb Darling0     
TS Worthingtonabsent hurt
Extras(4 b, 1 nb, 2 w)7
Total(all out, 248 minutes, 67.6 overs)238
Fall of wickets:
1-85, 2-117, 3-127, 4-149, 5-158, 6-187, 7-191, 8-237, 9-238 (67.6 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alexander16   151021
Blackie25   6825--
Ironmonger18   4813--
Hendry7   2100--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Woodfullc Cornford b Nichols0     
WH Ponsfordc Cornford b Barratt5     
HSTL Hendryc Duleepsinhji b Barratt2     
*J Ryderc Dawson b Allom50     
LS Darlingc Woolley b Barratt6     
KE Rigglbw b Nichols20     
JW Scaifeb Nichols27     
+JL Ellisb Allom6     
DD Blackiest Cornford b Barratt1     
HH Alexanderb Barratt15     
H Ironmongernot out17     
Extras(13 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)18
Total(all out, 197 minutes, 49.1 overs)167
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-4, 3-16, 4-30, 5-59, 6-121, 7-124, 8-125, 9-141, 10-167 (49.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols16   1623-1
Barratt19   1455--
Woolley4   0190-1

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dawsonc Ironmonger b Blackie19     
*AHH Gilliganc Hendry b Blackie11     
KS Duleepsinhjic Ryder b Blackie0     
FE Woolleyc Rigg b Alexander26     
MJL Turnbulllbw b Ironmonger9     
MS Nicholsc Hendry b Blackie24     
GF Earleb Blackie3     
F Barrattc Darling b Blackie0     
+WL Cornfordretired hurt6     
TS Worthingtonc Ironmonger b Blackie6     
MJC Allomnot out2     
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 2 w)8
Total(all out, 188 minutes, 50 overs)114
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-26, 3-61, 4-63, 5-85, 6-92, 7-92, 8-104, 9-114 (50 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alexander10   04312-
Hendry4   180--
Ironmonger15   6231--
Blackie19   8257--
Darling2   070--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Woodfullnot out100     
WH Ponsfordc Woolley b Barratt0     
HSTL Hendryc Nichols b Barratt9     
*J Ryderc Earle b Nichols35     
KE Riggnot out39     
LS Darlingdid not bat      
JW Scaifedid not bat      
+JL Ellisdid not bat      
DD Blackiedid not bat      
HH Alexanderdid not bat      
H Ironmongerdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)4
Total(3 wickets, 164 minutes, 45.4 overs)187
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-26, 3-100
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols10   0491--
Allom10   04001-
Woolley9   1330--
Worthington2   110-1

--> HH Alexander (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in first-class matches
--> KE Rigg (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 8
--> DD Blackie achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 7-71)
--> DD Blackie reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings
--> WL Cornford retired hurt in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings having scored 6 (team score 112/8)

12th Men: HC Hunt (Vic) and ET Benson (MCC)
Crowds: 7446, 14827, 6218, ? . Total: 28,491. Receipts: 1397 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive