Styris helps New Zealand to take lead
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Ground:McLean Park, Napier
Scorecard:New Zealand v Australia
Player:MEK Hussey, BB McCullum, SB Styris
Event:Australia in New Zealand 2009/10

DateLine: 3rd March 2010


New Zealand held their nerve to seal a cliffhanger to take lead in the five match series. Scott Styris (49 not out, 34b, 1x6, 7x4) held his nerve during the closing stages of the match as he steered New Zealanders to a two wicket win.


Earlier winning the toss, Ponting elected to bat first and openers Watson (45, 31b, 1x6, 7x4) and Haddin (12, 16b, 2x4) hammered the Kiwi bowlers into submission in the opening overs. Almost all the Australian batsmen got starts with but with an exception of Hussey (59, 59b, 4x4) none of the top-order batsmen crossed the fifty run mark. Australia ended their innings after fifty overs at 275 for 8. For the hosts Tuffey took three wickets while Bond claimed two wickets.


New Zealand in reply got off to a blistering start as McCullum (45, 43b, 7x4) continued his T20 form while he was well-supported by Ingram (40, 41b, 8x4). The pair added 75 in 11.2 overs before they were separated. Barring stand-in captain Ross Taylor (70, 71b, 1x6, 6x4) none of the middle order batsmen looked settled in the middle.


The Kiwi innings was in disarray at 207 for 6 in 41.1 overs before Styris took hold of the faltering chase. The belligerent all-rounder who played only because Vettori opted out due to stiff neck held his nerve as he biffed the Australian bowlers to all parts of the ground. The short but strongly built all-rounder took on the Australian bowlers and it rattled the visitors as it showed with Mitchell Johnson and Styris exchanging heated words in the middle. Though the Kiwis lost Tuffey (12, 11b) and Southee (2, 3b) Styris did not let this affect his concentration in the middle. He found a willing and unusual partner in Bond (11, 8b, 2x4) as the two helped New Zealand overhaul the Australian target in the final over.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive