CricketArchive

Indian press criticises Bucknor for Tendulkar dismissal
by AFP


Ground:Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Scorecard:India v Pakistan
Player:SR Tendulkar, SA Bucknor
Event:Pakistan in India 2004/05

DateLine: 19th March 2005

 

Umpire Steve Bucknor was severely criticised by the Indian media for ruling Sachin Tendulkar out in a controversial manner in the second Test against Pakistan here.

 

The star Indian middle-order batsman was on 52 when he was declared caught behind in fading light off seamer Abdul Razzaq on the third day of the ongoing Test at the Eden Gardens on Friday.

 

TV replays, however, suggested the batsman had not nicked the ball.

 

Newspapers Saturday ran front-page headlines and photographs too in response to the decision, which left a section of the crowd shouting slogans against the West Indian umpire.

 

National newspaper the Indian Express was scathing, carrying a boxed front-page report with the headline "Bucknored" along with a photograph of the umpire and Tendulkar.

 

"Bucknor pokes finger in Indian pie", continued the attack on its main sports page while another page carried a record of India in Tests featuring Bucknor as well as previous doubtful decisions by the umpire against India.

 

"Bucknor leaves Tendulkar speechless," screamed a headline in the Telegraph.

 

"Bucknor took to his 100th Test, at the Eden, having apologised twice for poor decisions.

 

"It will be appropriate if cricket's most experienced umpire tenders one more apology -- this time to Tendulkar, given out despite the bat making no contact with the leather," the paper said.

 

"Bucknor blunders," said the Times of India.

 

"All umpires make mistakes. Bucknor made one on Friday that nipped Tendulkar's 35th century in the bud," said the newspaper.

 

The umpire, standing in a record 100th Test, said he had not seen the TV replays.

 

"I haven't seen the replays, but those who have, told me that I made a wrong decision," Bucknor was quoted as saying in the Times of India.

 

Tendulkar was ruled not out by South African umpire Rudi Koertzen in the drawn opening Test at Mohali last week after Pakistani fielder Asim Kamal had appealed for a bat-pad catch off leg-spinner Danish Kaneria.

 

TV replayed suggested the ball had hit the bat and pad on way to the fielder.

 

Tendulkar was then on eight and went on to make 94, six runs short of what could have been a world record 35th Test century.

(Article: Copyright © 2005 AFP)

LATEST SCORES

| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive