Hair still not forgiven for ball-tampering slight: former PCB chief
by AFP

Ground:Kennington Oval, Kennington
Scorecard:England v Pakistan
Player:DB Hair
Event:Pakistan in British Isles 2006

DateLine: 10th October 2006


The former chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said Tuesday that Australian umpire Darrell Hair had still not been forgiven for his role in August's forfeited Oval Test against England.


Shaharyar Khan, who resigned last week over the furore, said his replacement as chairman, Nasim Ashraf, would continue to press the International Cricket Council (ICC) to launch an inquiry into Hair's role in the debacle.


"It's a wrong impression that we have forgiven Hair. Instead, our lawyer has prepared a paper and the new chairman has also vowed to further the case," Khan told AFP.


At the Oval Test, Hair and fellow umpire West Indian Billy Doctrove, accused Pakistan of tampering illegally with the ball.


This led to the Pakistan team's refusal to continue the Test which umpires later awarded to England on forfeit -- the first time this had happened in Test cricket's 129-year history.


An ICC disciplinary hearing acquitted Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq of the ball-tampering charges but banned him for four one-day matches for bringing the game into disrepute by leading his team in protest.


Khan said Pakistan has a strong case in calling for an inquiry into Hair's behaviour as the side had later agreed to come out and play only for the umpires then to refuse to take the field.


"After Pakistan agreed to play, Hair's conduct was unbecoming of an international official and we have quoted all rules and regulations in our demand for an inquiry against Hair," said Khan.


Hair was further embarrased by a leaked e-mail to an ICC official in which he offered to resign in exchange for a 500,000 dollar pay-off.


The 53-year-old umpire was not appointed in the ongoing Champions Trophy in India but the ICC have said that Hair still has a future at international level.

(Article: Copyright © 2006 AFP)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive