Nafees leads Bangladesh to convincing win
by AFP

Player:Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Rafique, Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees
Event:ICC World Cup 2006/07

DateLine: 26th February 2007


Opening batsman Shahriar Nafees hit his fourth One-day International hundred to lead Bangladesh to an eight-wicket victory over Bermuda in the first match of their three-nation series on Sunday at the Antigua Recreation Ground.


Nafees hit eight fours and three sixes in an undefeated 104 from 112, as Bangladesh successfully chased 206 for victory and reached their target with 12.3 overs to spare.


For the Bermudians, an ICC Associate side and one of the real minnows of Cricket World Cup 2007 which is being staged in the Caribbean for the first time, it was a reality check ahead of the competition which officially opens on March 11.


Ironically, Bermuda and Bangladesh have been drawn in Group B of the preliminary competition along with India and Sri Lanka.


After losing Tamim Iqbal for 11 early, Nafees added 58 for the second wicket with Aftab Ahmed and then on 134, unbroken, for the third wicket with Saqibul Hasan to take Bangladesh to victory.


Ahmed struck seven fours in 40 off 27 balls and Hasan collected two boundaries in 42 from 70 balls.


Earlier, several Bermuda batsmen got starts, but failed to carry on, after their side won the toss and chose to bat. Lionel Cann, batting at seven, hit the top score of 33, Saleem Mukuddem made 32, Janeiro Tucker got 31, and Oliver Pitcher 30.


No Bangladesh bowler had to extend himself, but Mohammad Rafique took two for 38 from his allotment of 10 overs.


Bermuda face Canada, another ICC Associate that has qualified for CWC 2007, in the second match of the series on Monday at the same venue, where Canada meet Bangladesh on Wednesday.


Canada have been placed in Group-C alongside England, New Zealand, and Kenya.


Brief scores:
Bermuda: 205-8 in 50 overs; Bangladesh: 206-2 in 37.3 overs (Shahriar Nafees 104 not out, Saqibul Hasan 42 not out, Aftab Ahmed 40)

(Article: Copyright © 2007 AFP)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2024 CricketArchive