South Australia v New Zealanders
New Zealand in Australia and South Africa 1961/62
VenueAdelaide Oval, Adelaide on 2nd, 3rd, 5th March 1962 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to field
ResultSouth Australia won by 6 wickets
UmpiresCJ Egar, NJ Odlum
Close of play day 1South Australia (1) 141/1 (Favell 101*, Lill 0*)
Close of play day 2New Zealanders (2) 158/5 (Reid 23*, Yuile 11*)

New Zealanders first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GT Dowlingb Sincock41     
JW Guyc Lill b Sincock19     
PT Bartonc Lill b Sincock3     
*JR Reidb Brooks13     
SN McGregorb Sincock3     
ME Chapplec Causby b Sincock16     
+AE Dickc Chappell b Brooks1     
BW Yuilenot out11     
GA Bartlettlbw b Hawke13     
JC Alabasterc Hawke b Sincock2     
FJ Cameronb Hawke1     
Extras(5 lb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 197 minutes, 45.5 overs)129
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-49, 3-77, 4-77, 5-84, 6-89, 7-97, 8-116, 9-125, 10-129 (45.5 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brooks13   53021-
Sangster5   0170--
Sincock15   1546--
Dansie3   090--

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*LE Favellc Chapple b Cameron109     
JP Causbyc Dowling b Bartlett37     
JC Lillc Barton b Chapple28     
HN Dansiec Dick b Cameron0     
IM Chappellc Dick b Reid15     
JA Halbertc Barton b Reid0     
JF Sangsterc Dick b Cameron12     
NJN Hawkec Barton b Bartlett14     
+BN Jarmanc Chapple b Cameron26     
DJ Sincocknot out7     
GV Brooksb Cameron0     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 3 nb, 5 w)12
Total(all out, 286 minutes, 75 overs)260
Fall of wickets:
1-127, 2-150, 3-151, 4-193, 5-193, 6-195, 7-223, 8-223, 9-260, 10-260 (75 ov)
New Zealanders bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cameron21   55651-
Bartlett10   142243
Alabaster13   1640--
Reid20   7452--
Chapple9   1271--
Yuile2   0140--

New Zealanders second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GT Dowlinglbw b Chappell54     
JW Guyc Brooks b Hawke3     
PT Bartonb Sangster22     
SN McGregorc Brooks b Chappell34     
*JR Reidc Jarman b Brooks49     
ME Chapplec Favell b Chappell1     
BW Yuilec Jarman b Hawke31     
+AE Dicknot out33     
GA Bartlettc Causby b Hawke1     
JC Alabasterc Jarman b Hawke4     
FJ Cameronc Jarman b Hawke5     
Extras(5 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)14
Total(all out, 289 minutes, 70.6 overs)251
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-56, 3-114, 4-126, 5-128, 6-207, 7-207, 8-208, 9-218, 10-251 (70.6 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brooks15   134123
Sangster4   0161--
Sincock18   2660--
Chappell16   4503--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JP Causbylbw b Alabaster39     
+BN Jarmanc Chapple b Reid2     
JA Halbertb Yuile5     
IM Chappellb Yuile7     
JC Lillnot out52     
JF Sangsternot out13     
*LE Favelldid not bat      
HN Dansiedid not bat      
NJN Hawkedid not bat      
DJ Sincockdid not bat      
GV Brooksdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(4 wickets, 126 minutes, 36 overs)121
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-20, 3-28, 4-74
New Zealanders bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cameron10   2190--
Reid8   2101--
Yuile8   0382--
Alabaster9   0431--
Dowling1   080--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> JF Sangster made his debut in First-Class matches
--> JA Halbert made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> JP Causby (1) passed his previous highest score of 32 in First-Class matches
--> JP Causby (2) passed his previous highest score of 37 in First-Class matches
--> JW Guy made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> BW Yuile made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> DJ Sincock reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 6th wicket in the New Zealanders first innings
--> IM Chappell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the New Zealanders second innings (previous best was 1-38)
--> GV Brooks was no-balled for throwing in the New Zealanders second innings (once by CJ Egar)

12th Men: BM Hurn (SA) and PGZ Harris (NZ)
Crowds: 1680, 3643, 1058. Total: 6,381. Receipts: 559 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2024 CricketArchive