Leicestershire v Northamptonshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1989
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 19th, 20th, 21st July 1989 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Northamptonshire 3 (Batting 1, Bowling 2)
UmpiresR Julian, KJ Lyons
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 104/3 (Gower 49*, Willey 1*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 76/1 (G Cook 30*, Bailey 46*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Cookc Whitticase b Agnew0     
NA Feltonb Taylor25     
RJ Baileylbw b Agnew9     
*AJ Lambc Willey b Parsons31     
DJ Capelc and b Parsons4     
NA Stanleyc Boon b Parsons75     
AL Penberthyb Agnew14     
+D Ripleyb Taylor12     
JG Thomasb Taylor5     
CEL Ambroseb Parsons13     
NGB Cooknot out0     
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 69.4 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-12, 3-66, 4-68, 5-71, 6-107, 7-145, 8-165, 9-191, 10-198 (69.4 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Agnew19   5503--
Taylor19   5563--
Willey1   100--
Such12   4290--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TJ Boonlbw b Thomas4     
NE Briersc Bailey b NGB Cook46     
*DI Gowerc Lamb b Ambrose50     
GJ Parsonslbw b Ambrose0     
P Willeyc Bailey b NGB Cook12     
JJ Whitakerc Ripley b Thomas99     
L Potterc Ripley b Thomas49     
+P Whitticasec Ripley b Ambrose0     
JP Agnewb Ambrose25     
LB Taylornot out4     
PM Suchb Ambrose0     
Extras(11 lb)11
Total(all out, 114.3 overs)300
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-100, 3-101, 4-106, 5-126, 6-270, 7-271, 8-279, 9-300, 10-300 (114.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas24   5893--
Capel18   3580--
Penberthy7   2210--
NGB Cook33   13632--
Bailey2   060--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Cookst Whitticase b Potter105     
NA Feltonlbw b Agnew0     
RJ Baileylbw b Agnew52     
DJ Capelc Whitaker b Willey77     
NA Stanleyb Potter43     
AL Penberthyc Gower b Potter7     
+D Ripleyc Gower b Such6     
JG Thomasnot out13     
CEL Ambrosenot out2     
*AJ Lambdid not bat      
NGB Cookdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb)7
Total(7 wickets, declared, 109.2 overs)312
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-83, 3-211, 4-279, 5-284, 6-297, 7-297
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Agnew20   4392--
Taylor11   1320--
Parsons4   090--
Willey27   10661--
Such26   8711--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TJ Boonc Capel b Thomas15     
NE Briersrun out1     
*DI Gowerc Felton b Bailey91     
P Willeyc Thomas b NGB Cook20     
JJ Whitakerc Penberthy b NGB Cook7     
L Potterb NGB Cook5     
+P Whitticasec Capel b NGB Cook5     
GJ Parsonsnot out41     
JP Agnewnot out5     
LB Taylordid not bat      
PM Suchdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 10 lb, 1 w)16
Total(7 wickets, 42 overs)206
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-49, 3-93, 4-106, 5-114, 6-122, 7-169
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ambrose8   3170--
Thomas7   1311--
Capel7   0470--
NGB Cook14   1544--
Bailey6   0421--

--> Leicestershire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 243-5
--> AL Penberthy made his debut in County Championship matches
--> NA Felton (1) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 20
--> NA Stanley (1) passed his previous highest score of 62 in County Championship matches
--> NA Stanley (1) passed his previous highest score of 66 in first-class matches
--> DI Gower (1) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 24
--> DI Gower (2) passed 20500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> JP Agnew reached 500 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> CEL Ambrose achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 2-43)
--> CEL Ambrose achieved his first five wickets in an innings in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive