Northamptonshire v Kent
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1996
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 8th, 9th, 10th August 1996 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to bat
ResultKent won by 10 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 4 (Bowling 4); Kent 23 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresVA Holder, BJ Meyer
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 3/0 (Montgomerie 2*, Fordham 1*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 91/3 (Montgomerie 30*, Curran 29*)

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DP Fultonb Snape3910012531 
MJ Walkerlbw b Capel4055837- 
*TR Wardc Curran b Capel021-- 
CL Hooperc Capel b Taylor41619941 
NJ Llongc Ripley b Penberthy743391- 
MV Flemingb Ambrose40507952 
+SC Willisc Walton b Curran7811815812- 
DW Headleyc Ripley b Walton1940422- 
MM Patelc Fordham b Taylor3174713- 
MJ McCaguenot out1816-- 
TN Wrenlbw b Taylor011-- 
Extras(4 b, 12 lb, 4 nb)20
Total(all out, 91.4 overs)316
Fall of wickets:
1-77 (Walker), 2-77 (Ward), 3-112 (Fulton), 4-131 (Llong), 5-146 (Hooper), 6-211 (Fleming), 7-259 (Headley), 8-309 (Willis), 9-316 (Patel), 10-316 (Wren)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ambrose17   6451--
Curran11   1301-2
Capel13   1402--
Penberthy10   1281--
Snape16   2631--
Walton7   0261--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Montgomeriec Patel b McCague82852-- 
*A Fordhamc Llong b McCague531011567- 
DJG Salesb McCague042-- 
DJ Capelc Hooper b Wren11116-- 
KM Curranc Ward b Headley45464910- 
TC Waltonb Patel068-- 
AL Penberthyc Fulton b Patel1435423- 
JN Snapec Willis b McCague055-- 
+D Ripleyc Willis b McCague517211- 
CEL Ambrosec Hooper b Patel278-- 
JP Taylornot out022-- 
Extras(5 lb)5
Total(all out, 43.4 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Montgomerie), 2-12 (Sales), 3-23 (Capel), 4-92 (Curran), 5-97 (Walton), 6-109 (Fordham), 7-117 (Snape), 8-129 (Penberthy), 9-131 (Ripley), 10-133 (Ambrose)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McCague13   5215--
Headley13   1411--
Wren3   1201--
Hooper1   100--

Northamptonshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Montgomeriec Willis b Hooper571642586- 
*A Fordhamlbw b Wren155-- 
DJG Salesc Ward b Wren2524326- 
DJ Capelc Ward b Wren021-- 
KM Curranb Hooper4990 7- 
TC Waltonb Wren1534382- 
AL Penberthyb Wren31926-- 
JN Snapec Walker b Hooper1650681- 
+D Ripleyb McCague032-- 
CEL Ambrosec Fulton b Hooper197-- 
JP Taylornot out097-- 
Extras(10 b, 9 lb, 10 nb)29
Total(all out, 67.2 overs)196
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Fordham), 2-34 (Sales), 3-34 (Capel), 4-143 (Walton), 5-155 (Penberthy), 6-179 (Montgomerie), 7-180 (Ripley), 8-191 (Curran), 9-193 (Ambrose), 10-196 (Snape)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McCague15   2441-2
Wren16   3495--
Headley14   2370-3
Patel13   4260--
Fleming3   0140--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DP Fultonnot out689-- 
MJ Walkernot out1199-- 
*TR Warddid not bat      
CL Hooperdid not bat      
NJ Llongdid not bat      
MV Flemingdid not bat      
+SC Willisdid not bat      
MM Pateldid not bat      
DW Headleydid not bat      
MJ McCaguedid not bat      
TN Wrendid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 9 minutes, 2.5 overs)17
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Penberthy1   070--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> SC Willis (1) passed his previous highest score of 53 in County Championship matches
--> DP Fulton (2) passed 2000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> CEL Ambrose reached 300 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed MV Fleming, his 1st wicket in the Kent first innings
--> MJ McCague reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when he dismissed D Ripley, his 5th wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> MJ McCague reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when he dismissed D Ripley, his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings
--> KM Curran retired hurt in the Northamptonshire second innings having scored 45 (team score 115/3) - he returned when the score was 180/7





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive