Marylebone Cricket Club v Oxford University
University Match 1906
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 28th, 29th, 30th June 1906 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 18 runs
UmpiresAD Pougher, VA Titchmarsh
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 189/6 (Branston 49*, Barnes 5*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 34/0 (Challenor 6*, Raphael 24*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EL Challenorc Bird b Curwen25 55   
JE Raphaelrun out51 707- 
AEE Voglerb Curwen1     
JT Newsteadc Bird b Martin5     
GJV Weigallb Martin8     
EC Leec Wright b Barnes7     
KJ Keyrun out14     
HE Symes-Thompsonc Buxton b Martin5     
HI Youngc Wright b Barnes4     
EG Dennettlbw b Barnes0     
+RW Foxnot out1     
Extras(12 b, 6 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)24
Total(all out, 51.4 overs)145
Fall of wickets:
1-79 (Challenor), 2-? (Vogler), 3-101 (Raphael), 4-?, 5-?, 6-127, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-145 (51.4 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Branston5   2160--
Curwen12   4182--
Worsley2   0140--
Gordon1   050--
Martin17   7293--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GN Fosterb Newstead24     
CAL Paynec Raphael b Newstead14     
JH Gordonst Fox b Dennett15     
RV Buxtonb Vogler1     
EL Wrightc and b Young29     
AE Worsleyc Newstead b Dennett37     
GT Branstonretired hurt49     
RG Barnesc Dennett b Young13     
*+WS Birdnot out18     
WJH Curwenc Raphael b Dennett3     
EG Martinc Raphael b Dennett10     
Extras(15 b, 4 lb)19
Total(all out, 76.5 overs)232
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-49, 3-?, 4-?, 5-113, 6-179, 7-200, 8-?, 9-232 (76.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Vogler19   3601--
Newstead16   7372--
Young18   4452--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EL Challenorc Bird b Barnes25     
JE Raphaelc Gordon b Barnes66 1159- 
AEE Voglerc Gordon b Martin48 309- 
JT Newsteadc Buxton b Barnes80 9012- 
GJV Weigallnot out49     
EC Leec Barnes b Foster22     
KJ Keyc Curwen b Barnes14     
HE Symes-Thompsonnot out2     
HI Youngdid not bat      
EG Dennettdid not bat      
+RW Foxdid not bat      
Extras(18 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 3 w)24
Total(6 wickets, declared, 96 overs)330
Fall of wickets:
1-96 (Challenor), 2-105 (Raphael), 3-171 (Vogler), 4-281 (Newstead), 5-? (Lee), 6-? (Key)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes25   6914--
Branston12   1490--
Curwen28   11700--
Worsley1   020--
Martin25   5851--
Foster5   291--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GN Fosterb Young65     
CAL Paynec Fox b Young32 60   
JH Gordonc and b Young44     
RV Buxtonb Young16     
EL Wrightb Dennett33     
AE Worsleyc Fox b Young12     
RG Barnesrun out3     
*+WS Birdlbw b Dennett0     
WJH Curwennot out6     
EG Martinb Young0     
GT Branstonabsent hurt
Extras(8 b, 6 lb)14
Total(all out, 140 minutes, 45 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-110 (Payne), 2-110 (Foster), 3-?, 4-?, 5-215, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-225 (45 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dennett11   1642--
Vogler12   0610--
Newstead5   2220--
Young17   1646--

--> Oxford University second innings: 200 in 115 minutes
--> HE Symes-Thompson made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AE Worsley made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JE Raphael (2) 50 in 90 minutes
--> JT Newstead (2) passed his previous highest score of 37 in first-class matches
--> GN Foster (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 33
--> CAL Payne (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 28
--> EG Martin reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
--> EG Dennett reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Oxford University first innings
--> GT Branston retired hurt in the Oxford University first innings having scored 49 (team score 189/6)

Oxford University were set 244 to win in 145 minutes, but were all out with five minutes to spare





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive